Wild Child.

If you know me in real life, you know that I have a horse’s MANE for hair. Seriously. It is so long, and thick and wild. I was literally born with that hair. I wish I had baby pictures to show you, but just picture a teeny tiny 7 lb baby with a full mop of pitch black hair. Dominic has pretty thick, nice hair too, so when we found out we were having Olivia, everyone (including us) would talk about how she was going to be born with such nice hair. She definitely proved us wrong! She was born with some hair, but not a lot. I don’t think her hair started growing until she was like 6 months old.

The very first time I put a ponytail in her hair, she cried. She didn’t like it. I didn’t try it again until the other day and she surprisingly didn’t cry. In fact, I think it brings out her inner Wild Child because she was even crazier than usual. And now for the proof:

DSC00192 DSC00200 DSC00221 DSC00217edit

For the life of me, I cannot figure out why I can’t upload a video, because in my opinion, video is so much better and this video is hilarious. I posted it on Facebook, so luckily I have a link, and I highly recommend watching it!

Wild or not, this little child always knows how to turn a normal task (such as undressing to take a bath), into one of the best parts of the day. She just makes everything we do ten times more fun.

Speaking of fun….In honor of Valentine’s Day being tomorrow, I thought I’d share a craft that I think is perfect to do with your little one…or even your big one. I have thought of doing this with Olivia, but unless I can get a chance to get the supplies sometime today, I’ll probably hold off, and do it sometime next week to just let hang in our home anyway, and more importantly, let Olivia experience paint.

As much as I want Olivia to stay as small as possible, there are a few things that I can’t wait to do with her….bake Valentine’s Day treats, do crafts, make Valentine’s for her classmates, it’s all so exciting to think about. I am the type of person who celebrates every single holiday, before Dominic met me, he was the exact opposite. I know that he has tried to slowly change his view toward celebrating things for me, and I appreciate that. Now, we try to even out our views by doing something small, and sweet. Like a special baked treat (last year I made him PINK Nutella cupcakes. He loves Nutella anything.) or a bouquet of flowers with a sweet message. In fact, this year I believe we are going to an Olivia-free dinner, and that’s about it. And I am totally okay with that. Besides, something tells me that as Olivia gets older, he’s going to change his attitude even more about celebrating all of the different holidays.

What are you doing for Valentine’s Day?

xo,

Katie

Comments make me happy!

