The Best Baby in All of The Land.

This is a shout-out to our girl….because she deserves it after yesterday.

Tuesday evening, Olivia and I were hanging out, like we always do, when I started to feel really sick. I felt so sick that I put her to sleep a half hour early, and marched my booty right to bed. I was vomiting, I had a really bad fever, chills, aches, it all came at me so fast and I literally felt like I was dying.

Little did I know that Dominic was coming home feeling the exact same way.

It was so ridiculous. I cannot recall us ever both being so sick at the exact same time. We were up. all. night.

Olivia still doesn’t sleep through the night, she usually wakes up once around 3/3:30am, so I kept wondering if one of us was going to be able to….um…contain….ourselves long enough to put her back to sleep.

But guess what? She never woke up.

Our girl slept 10 full hours, and then I started to freak out -because that has never ever happened- so I sent Dominic in to check on her and she must’ve heard him, because she woke up instantly. I said, “Just bring her in here, I miss her.” So he did, and she cuddled me, and the three of us fell asleep for 3 more hours.

After she woke up again, Dominic took her downstairs and let me sleep for another 2 hours, and then we switched off and he went upstairs to bed and I stayed downstairs with her.

We were still both so sick all day and we were the most boring parents ever. I swear, she looked so bored and I felt so bad.

But it was like she knew that something was wrong. It was like she knew that we needed a calm, relaxing day because that’s exactly what she gave us.

Olivia is typically a very mellow baby. Don’t get me wrong, she has definitely had her moments (especially lately) but overall she is pretty good. And yesterday was no exception. She was like an angel baby. She played quietly by herself, she was laughing with Charlie (our dog), sat on my lap, watched cartoons…as a matter of fact, now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t think she cried once. She was so content, and calm, just plain old good. She was just such a good girl.

If she was able to understand the term “reward” yet, she would’ve gotten one, that’s for sure. Instead, I just kept kissing her cheeks saying, “Thank you for being such a good girl today. I’m sorry we were boring, tomorrow we’ll go out.” (as if she knew what I was saying.)

So today, that’s what we did. We went and got a nice lunch at Panera, and then we started our wedding registry (more on that next week!). We could tell that she was very happy to be out for a few hours, and it was nice to get some fresh air after being cooped up in the house with the worst sickness in all of the land (at least that’s how it felt in that moment).

We really thought that with both of us having the stomach flu, and having to entertain a baby at the same time, it was going to be one hell of a long day. And it was. At least the whole having the stomach flu part. The entertaining a baby part? Well, we have the best baby in all of the land, which means, we still win. Take that, stomach flu!

xo,

Katie

3 thoughts on “The Best Baby in All of The Land.

  1. Hi Katie, just wanted to leave you a little note to say I am so sorry you had to deal with being sick, but it sounds like you have such a sweet little girl. Her pictures are absolutely adorable, but how could they not be with such a good subject? I hope you are feeling better today!

Comments make me happy!

